Utah Valley University Selects Veteran Accounting Professor and Academic Leader as New Dean of Woodbury School of Business | News @ UVU | News @ UVU


Utah Valley University has chosen a new dean of the Woodbury School of Business: Robert D. Allen, Ph.D., longtime faculty member of the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah . Dr. Allen will take office on January 1, 2023.

“Dr. Allen is a talented scholar who has a passion for teaching and has focused his career on helping students succeed,” said UVU Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs Wayne Vaught. We are excited to have him join Utah Valley University and head the Woodbury School of Business, the state’s largest business school.”

Dr. Allen is currently an Academic Advisor for the Opportunity Scholars Program (OSP) at the University of Utah. The program provides scholarships and other forms of support for first-generation students and students from underrepresented groups. The PCO has consistently achieved a 90% graduation rate for students in the program. Prior to that, Dr. Allen was director of the School of Accountancy at the University of Utah. His research focuses on the fields of auditing and accounting education.

“My career has been one of wonderful collaboration with students, faculty, alumni, university administration, local community leaders and international university bodies,” said Dr. Allen. “I look forward to continuing this work at UVU as we continue to build on the success of this great nationally recognized business school.”

An active member of the American Accounting Association, Dr. Allen completed a term as president of the organization in August 2022. One of the features of his work with the AAA was identifying and addressing diversity issues, equity and inclusion within the association.

Dr. Allen holds a bachelor’s and master’s degree in accounting from Brigham Young University and a Ph.D. in Accounting from Michigan State University. Dr. Allen is active in the community, has served on the board of directors of CIT Bank and is the former chairman of the board of directors of The Road Home.


Comments are closed.